Forums » Veterinary Social Work Corner

A Vet's View - Supporting Clients and Ourselves Through Grief

• 2 posts
    August 10, 2020 3:12 PM EDT

The benefit of experience in veterinary practice and a social work perspective ...

Sometimes unique life experiences create ‘light bulb’ moments. For me, this experience was changing role from veterinarian to social work student on placement in both a human hospital / community setting and child protection agency. These placements were undertaken in communities in which I had previously practiced as a new graduate veterinarian, and another where I currently work as a casual sessional veterinarian.

Curiosity coupled with my involvement in research as an academic and social work student led me to delving into the topic of grief and veterinary practice. More recently, my periodic work in the veterinary practice setting (without ongoing case management responsibility) has enabled me to experience fresh insights into grief experienced by both clients and veterinary staff members.