Forums » Veterinary Social Work Corner

Animal Lovers: Are We Contributing Our Disenfranchised Grief?

• 3 posts
    February 4, 2021 2:41 PM EST

The first time I lost an animal, I was 39 years old. It was my first pet, Lynx, who I adopted as a kitten when I graduated college at age 22. He was 17 when he passed and meant the world to me. I spent my childhood begging my parents for a pet. Other than a hamster, they never consented. So, as soon as I was able, I got Lynx. Losing him was heart-wrenching. I put him down on a Sunday and, at the time, was in a high-level job at a large corporation. I didn’t even think about taking Monday off. I remember thinking to myself, “no one will understand how heartbroken I am.” I also remember feeling slightly embarrassed about how devastated I was about losing a cat. After all, it wasn’t a human. But as I learned that day and am reminded each time I put down one of my beloved pets, it feels as bad as losing a beloved human. Sometimes it feels worse because, let’s be real, sometimes we’re closer to our pets than we are to humans.

Disenfranchised grief is common in pet owners and animal lovers. It is known as silent grief and occurs when we don’t feel validated for the grief and loss we feel and when we aren’t able to openly express our feelings because we assume that others will judge us, or our feelings will be misunderstood. In other words, it is grief that may not be accepted by societal norms. People often don’t know how to react to someone who is grieving. When it’s a loss that is not typically mourned in public (such as the loss of a pet), it creates even more discomfort for both the griever and others exposed to the grief. This discomfort can cause pet owners to hide their feelings. However, research shows that the grief of pet loss is sometimes the most heartbreaking loss one can experience (Marton et al., 2019).