Forums » Behavior

A dog trainer's relationship with a veterinarian

• 406 posts
    September 18, 2018 2:48 PM EDT

Question submitted as part of the Crash, Boom, Bang: Update on Canine Noise Phobia Treatments webinar:

I am a dog trainer working with a noise fearful dog and ever since a major incident on July 4, the dog now refuses to go outside and has become sensitive to other noises like crinkling paper. The family veterinarian is refusing medications.  What is your recommendation?

Answer provided by Julia (Julie) Albright, MA, DVM, DACVB: